It's Episode 323 and we've got plugins for Facebook Reviews, Speed Monitoring, New Posts via Messenger, Nearby Locations, Media File Types and Latest Posts. It's all coming up on WordPress Plugins A-Z!

WP Plugins A to Z Episode 323 Facebook Reviews, Speed Monitoring

http://www.johnoverall.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/09/Episode323-WPPlugins-A-to-Z.mp3Episode #323 New Posts via Messenger, Nearby Locations #Wordpress #Plugins #Podcast Click To Tweet

It's Episode 323 and we've got plugins for Facebook Reviews, Speed Monitoring, New Posts via Messenger, Nearby Locations, Media File Types and Latest Posts. It's all coming up on WordPress Plugins A-Z!It’s Episode 323 and we’ve got plugins for Facebook Reviews, Speed Monitoring, New Posts via Messenger, Nearby Locations, Media File Types and Latest Posts. It’s all coming up on WordPress Plugins A-Z!

 

 

 

Get all the show notes and plugin details on the show web site at WPPluginsAtoZ.com. Follow the show on Twitter at @wppluginsatoz for the latest WordPress plugin related news we come across in-between shows.

The WordPress Plugins A-Z Podcast can be found on iTunes, Stitcher Radio and also on WordPress Radio. If you like what you hear on the show, we encourage you to share your enthusiasm with others that you know in the WordPress community and in social networks.
Share on Twitter. WP Plugins A to Z The Only #WordPress #Plugins #Podcast Click To Tweet

Self Promotion

While we do enjoy bringing you the show week after week, we also make our living with WordPress and related promotional services. With that, we do ask for a moment of your time for some self promotion. If you find these promotions of value, please share them with friends and colleagues.

Promotions from John Overall:
Has your  WordPress site broken or do you have a question or two about its functionality, or have your recieved the white screen of death. This may be time for some Emergency WordPress Support contact me at WPPro.ca/help or give me a quick call at 818-850-7729.


Promotions from Marcus Couch:

My newly created Membership Coach program is your go-to resource for all the Training, Advice, and Support needed to Develop and Grow a Profitable Membership Site. Be sure to head over to MembershipCoach.com and get on the waiting list for the first sessions, launching soon. You can also follow @membershipcoach on twitter to get the latest release dates and news. Signups are now active and Pre-Launch Enrollment is open!

Check Out WP Plugins A to Z Live Show Playback

Benefits – Benefits – Benefits

Having a review done by us or having an interview helps the traffic to the developers website. As was bought to our attention recently when we did an interview and reviewed a plugin for a developer who sent us snap shots of their traffic before and after the shows and the traffic stayed so there are great benefits to being reviewed by WP Plugins A to Z. Submit Your Plugin Here.

 

All the show notes can be found at: WPPluginsAtoZ.com

Make sure you subscribe and review the show at:

Stitcher Radio, Google Play and in the iTunes Store.
Check out our Training Videos, Screencasts and Watch Us Live on YouTube every Monday morning at 10amPST

Follow the show on Twitter @wppluginsatoz
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Today we are reviewing our usual allotment of six great plugins.

John

And first up I have This plugin this plugin which comes to us via submission by … or from my own research and helps solve the following issues

Latest Posts

https://wordpress.org/plugins/latest-posts/

Version:1.4
Requires:4.0 or higher
Compatible up to:4.9
Released:09 April 2015
Downloads:21726
Last Updated:16 November 2017
Ratings:
4.6
(4.6 star out of 5)

The Lowdown:
This plugin adds a widget you can use to display your latest posts in a great format on your site while the free version is pretty good if you want the best looking layouts you need to jump to the pro version. Which is only $19 and worth the extra cash. It does a great job of displaying your post and with the pro you get additional styles of layout to choose from.

All in all not too bad.

Rating 4 Dragons

Marcus

News Booster for Messenger

https://wordpress.org/plugins/newsbooster-for-messenger/

Version:1.3
Requires:4.0 or higher
Compatible up to:4.8.3
Released:04 September 2017
Downloads:160
Last Updated:17 October 2017
Ratings:
0
(0 star out of 5)

Your wordpress subscription plugin over facebook messenger. Let your readers subscribe your news and receive it via Messenger.

Why use newsBooster?
* Reach Facebook Messenger audience of 1 790 000 000 active users in 2017
* Raise effectiveness – Messenger bot reaches up to 85% Open Rate!
* Serve your readers fastest way of receiving your news
* Use most handy communication channel
* Be on top with newest chatbots trends

Rating: 4 out of 5

Promotions this week

 

Troubles with your WordPress website, have you been Hacked, having plugin issues, theme issues or general development questions; then contact me, John Overall, and with 20 years experience online and 8 of those years dealing with WordPress exclusively, I can get you on you way saving you time and money. Visit my website JohnOverall.com, Call 818-850-7729 or send an email to john@wppro.ca

Anyone listening to this show has a passion for WordPress. Want to write about something unique within WordPress? I’m now the WordPress Editor for Smashing Magazine, one of the biggest web design resources online. I’m looking for folks to write great articles about WordPress. Get a lot of exposure to yourself and your work. Email marcus.couch at smashingmagazine.com and I’ll reply back with more info. It’s a great opportunity to contribute to the WordPress community, get exposure and get a few hundred bucks for the effort too.

 

Our next couple plugins for you are

John

Nearby Locations

https://wordpress.org/plugins/nearby-locations/

Version:1.1.1
Requires:3.3 or higher
Compatible up to:4.8.3
Released:31 August 2017
Downloads:97
Last Updated:24 September 2017
Ratings:
5
(5 star out of 5)

The Lowdown:
You can have your map show nearby locations based on the location you set it will show the nearby restruants, shopping, bars, ect. You choose the additional items to showcase on your map.

Rating 4 Dragons

Marcus

WP Media File Type Manger

https://wordpress.org/plugins/wp-media-file-type-manager/

Version:1.0.0
Requires:3.8 or higher
Compatible up to:4.8.3
Released:02 September 2017
Downloads:67
Last Updated:02 September 2017
Ratings:
0
(0 star out of 5)

This plugin will allow you to manage different file types in Media Library, So if you want to Enable/Disable any specific file type in media library to upload for Security reasons. Using this plugin you can control permissions for Your Site users to upload specific type of files not only from media library section but also from frontend.

Rating: 4 out of 5

We like listener feedback you can leave feedback via our contact page, Speakpipe or email us direct.

Show Donors

This Show is a Value for Value model meaning if you get any Value out of it please give some Value back and in that vein we would like to acknowledge those that have supported the show in the past week. All donations $50 and over are read out and their note is published here.
For all those who come in below $50 they will remain anonymous and we thank you very much.

This week’s Donor/’s are:

$50 Jezweb Pty Ltd

Hi John and Marcus. This weeks donation is on behalf of The Mark Hotel, https://www.themarkhotel.com.au/ which created some interesting challenge because there was very little text information available for the design and we are expecting most users to be on mobile. Jezweb shot and produced the video on the bottom of the homepage which is something we are gradually getting more interest from clients to have done. One plugin i tried today that I haven’t used before was https://wordpress.org/plugins/attachment-pages-redirect/ Attachment Pages Redirect. So that we could disable the attachment pages for a client. However on seeing how simple the code is for the functions file we are going to just include that in the future rather than relying on the plugin. Thanks for your efforts on the show. The new format feels snappier and progresses well from each section.

And a big thank you to our donors who came in under $50 and to those who have set up weekly subscriptions.
All these small subscriptions really help the show out.

Here are ways you can support the show:

Support the show with a weekly $2.50 subscription by going http://wppluginsatoz.com/donate/
This show is listener supported and we can use more than just money to help the show grow.
Visit WPPluginsAtoZ.com to learn how you can support the show in other ways.

You can also create a monthly donation at Patreon

Remember to support the show and earn producer credits for your support.

Our Last couple plugins today are:

John

Site Speed Monitor

https://wordpress.org/plugins/site-speed-monitor/

Version:1.0.0
Requires:4.0 or higher
Compatible up to:4.8.3
Released:28 August 2017
Downloads:79
Last Updated:28 August 2017
Ratings:
0
(0 star out of 5)

The lowdown:
This plugin help you check, improve and monitor your site speed. It runs tests against the WebPageTest.org API and take a look at how your site is loading and tracks it from the first time you run it and each test comopares to the first so you know if you are improving or not.
it features

Run speed tests manually.
Automatic speed tests run weekly, bi-weekly, daily, monthly and more!
View speed test results and grades.
View speed test results in an easy to read graph.
Diff checker to help narrow down what caused the change in results between two tests.
Site details tracked.
Receive email reports with speed test results.

Rating 4 Dragons

Marcus
OT Facebook Reviews

https://wordpress.org/plugins/ot-facebook-reviews/

Version:1.2.0
Requires:4.0 or higher
Compatible up to:4.8.3
Released:01 September 2017
Downloads:116
Last Updated:01 September 2017
Ratings:
0
(0 star out of 5)

OT Facebook Reviews plugin allow you get rating from facebook page to your WordPress site. People do give reviews regarding the company/website/services on the Facebook page. If you receive any testimonials on your Facebook page, you should share it on your store too. Showcasing testimonials and reviews of the Facebook page on your store allows you to increase your brand credibility and leads to faster sales.

* Show Facebook Reviews on website to increase user confidence, traffic and sales
* Trim long reviews so that your users can read them comfortably
* Your customers are already viewing your site so why not make it easy for them to view your positive reviews? Now you can! With Facebook Reviews you can quickly and easily embed your reviews directly on your store.

Rating: 4 out of 5

 

Closing out this Episode The Plugins we covered where:

John’s Plugins: Latest Posts – 4, Nearby Locations – 4, Site Speed Monitor – 4

Marcus’ Plugins: Newsbooster for Messenger – 4, WP Media File Type Manger – 4, OT Facebook Reviews – 4

Commercial / Promotions:

Be sure to check out the YouTube Screencast that goes up later and watch the add on part that has me doing a first impression of one of Marcus’s Plugin reviews from this show.

Note to developers who would like to support the show. If you would like to offer up a premium license to give away please go to WPPluginsAtoZ.com/PluginContest

We now have training videos up and on-line part of the WP Plugins network you can find them here at http://wpsupport.ca/category/public-wordpress-training-videos/ or here http://wpsupport.ca/category/members-wordpress-training-videos/ new videos being done weekly.

For Those who watch us on YouTube this is an addon special piece
John will take one of the plugins reviewed by the other in this show and do a quick online demonstration of the install and a two minute impression.

WordPress News and other interesting WordPress related posts:

For news and information that is related to WordPress be sure and subscribe to our Newsletter.

How to Protect Your WordPress Admin Area

Guarding your WordPress admin area and login page against attack is vital. However, while hackers are a major security risk, they’re not the only one. For sites providing user registration, you’ll also need to secure the admin area against the users themselves. Security issues that result from approved users are called ‘non-malicious intrusions’. Read original article here…. wpexplorer.com

How to Tell if a Website is Made With WordPress

https://www.elegantthemes.com/blog/resources/how-to-tell-if-a-website-is-made-with-wordpress?utm_source=Elegant+Themes&utm_campaign=aa718befbf-WordPress_Daily&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_c886a2fc0a-aa718befbf-51249745When you’re surfing the web and visiting different websites, you probably often get the ‘oh wow’ feeling that some websites manage to give you with their design. One of the first things it’ll make you wonder is how it was made. And especially; what content management system the website is using. For people who are working explicitly with WordPress, it might come in handy to figure out if these websites are made with WordPress.

Luckily, there are several ways you can do that. In this post, we’ll happily discuss some of the main ways that’ll help you speed up the process and see which websites are made with WordPress and which are not. Read original article here…. elegantthemes.com

Debunking 3 Common WordPress Myths

https://www.sitepoint.com/debunking-3-common-wordpress-myths/As the largest and most widely used content management system (CMS) on the internet, it should come as no surprise that people are constantly trying to bring WordPress down. Naturally, a number of WordPress myths have been conjured up over the years. In order to be properly informed, you have to make sure you know how to separate fact from fiction.

WordPress isn’t the only CMS around, but it certainly blows the competition out of the water in terms of adoption and appeal. Just consider the popularity of the platform: Read original article here…. sitepoint.com

 

 

Commercial / Promotions:

I want make mention of SEO 101 Podcast http://www.stepforth.com/about/seo-101-podcast/ a great show that I listen to from timme to time to pick up some tips. I also had the fortune to meet the shows host this past weekend and Ross is a pretty interesting guy.


Support WP Plugins A to Z

Be Sure to check out the latest Contest fromWP Plugins A to Z with generous donations from Developers and other Businesses

Enter to Win #Plugin licenses and More! WP Plugins A to Z #WordPress #Podcast… Click To Tweet

Are You a Developer? Need to get the Word out about Your Plugin? Submit it now to WP Pluginns A to Z Podcast.

Submit your #Plugin for Review to WP Plugins A to Z #WordPress #Podcast… Click To Tweet

My newly created Membership Coach program is your go-to resource for all the Training, Advice, and Support needed to Develop and Grow a Profitable Membership Site. Be sure to head over to MembershipCoach.com and get on the waiting list for the first sessions, launching soon. You can also follow @membershipcoach on twitter to get the latest release dates and news. Signups are now active and Pre-Launch Enrollment is open!


Just some reminders:
Get Your Daily dose of WordPress News from the WPPlugins Daily over at WPNews.wpmedic.ca

Rate us at iTunes, blubrry.com, ViaWay.com, Stitcher Radio and any place else you find us.

Interact with your Hosts

John can be contacted at:
Website: http://www.johnoverall.com/
WordPress Emergency Support: http://wppro.ca/wpemergency
Email: john@wppro.ca

Marcus can be contacted at:
Website: Marcus Couch Home Page
Website: Daily Plugin
Twitter: @marcuscouch