It's Episode 291 and we've got plugins for Embedding Twitch, Birthday Emails, Theme Style Switching, WooCommerce Document Previews, and a gret new lazy plugin that is a "must install" for any new WP installation. It's all coming up on WordPress Plugins A-Z!

WordPress Plugins A-Z #291 WooCommerce Document Previews, WP Tasks After Install

It's Episode 291 and we've got plugins for Embedding Twitch, Birthday Emails, Theme Style Switching, WooCommerce Document Previews, and a gret new lazy plugin that is a "must install" for any new WP installation. It's all coming up on WordPress Plugins A-Z!It’s Episode 291 and we’ve got plugins for Embedding Twitch, Birthday Emails, Theme Style Switching, WooCommerce Document Previews, and a great new lazy plugin that is a “must install” for any new WP installation. It’s all coming up on WordPress Plugins A-Z!!

Donate to WP Plugins A to Z

0

A to Z Backer

$0.00

raised

Choose An Amount
$

Get all the show notes and plugin details on the show web site at WPPluginsAtoZ.com. Follow the show on Twitter at @wppluginsatoz for the latest WordPress plugin related news we come across in-between shows.

The WordPress Plugins A-Z Podcast can be found on iTunes, Stitcher Radio and also on WordPress Radio. If you like what you hear on the show, we encourage you to share your enthusiasm with others that you know in the WordPress community and in social networks.

Self Promotion

While we do enjoy bringing you the show week after week, we also make our living with WordPress and related promotional services. With that, we do ask for a moment of your time for some self promotion. If you find these promotions of value, please share them with friends and colleagues.

Promotions from John Overall:
Has your  WordPress site broken or do you have a question or two about its functionality, or have your recieved the white screen of death. This may be time for some Emergency WordPress Support contact me at WPPro.ca/help or give me a quick call at 818-850-7729.


Promotions from Marcus Couch:

My newly created Membership Coach program is your go-to resource for all the Training, Advice, and Support needed to Develop and Grow a Profitable Membership Site. Be sure to head over to MembershipCoach.com and get on the waiting list for the first sessions, launching soon. You can also follow @membershipcoach on twitter to get the latest release dates and news. Signups are now active and Pre-Launch Enrollment is open!

Benefits – Benefits – Benefits

Having a review by us or having an interview helps the traffic to the developers website. As was bought to our attention recently when we did an interview and reviewed a plugin for a developer who sent us snap shots of their traffic before and after the shows and the traffic stayed so there is some great benefits to being reviewed by WP Plugins A to Z.

Thank Our Donors

We would like to thank our donors to the show, everyone who donates $50 or more will be acknowledged here with a mention and a link back to their page and all those below will be anonymous

From show 289

$50 from Jez at JezWeb Pty Ltd
This contribution is on behalf of Green Planet Plumbing in Lake Macquarie, Australia – https://www.greenplanetplumbing.com.au/

From show 290

$50 Jez at Jezweb Pty Ltd
Thank you for surfacing interesting new woocommerce plugins. This donation is on behalf of Power Wholesale Signage and Plastics – http://www.powerwholesale.com.au/  in Newcastle, Australia.
Thanks to all donors who came in under $50
You can now donate though Patreon at http://patreon.com/wppluginsatoz where you can donate on a monthly basis. As an incentive if you donate $40 a month you will gain access to the exclusive plugin tutorial videos on how to setup and use the plugins we review and use.

John’s Rant: What to rant about?

The past 2 weeks have been very busy for me as shown by me just getting the show up and not much else on the website. It does look to be easing off again so I can devote the day to the show again. So what happened well it seems the hackers had a field day out there and a couple of clients I had not heard from in a while gave me a call, one had 5 sites fully compromised and was off-line for a couple days before calling me and even then it took me 3 days of solid work to get the clients sites back on-line  Plus another couple projects getting closer for full launch which got pushed back a little due to the emergencies.
The lesson here for you is that you need to keep on top of your updates and if you have a single hosting account with multiple sites that are critical it is time to get them moved to separate accounts so that if one site is compromised the others are going to still be safe. Better yet you might start paying someone such as myself to keep an eye on your website by backing it up, keeping it up to date and monitoring it for issues.
Congratulations to  Larry from http://www.parliamentariancorner.com/ podcast and website the winner in the giveaway from Barn2 media for the WooCommerce Password Protected Categories. We will be having more contests coming soon. And remember if your a developer of premium plugins and would like to donate a license for a give away just drop me a line and we will make it happen.
.
Make sure you checkout the WPSupport store. where you can get direct access to some of the best plugins we have reviewed located all in one place. We do not host the plugins but provide the link to download it direct from WordPress.org or the plugin developer, and they may occasionally have an affiliate link but not too often since that adds a whole new layer of work to what I have to do.
For developers who find value in what I am doing here please donate that value back to the show.

WordPress News and other interesting WordPress related posts:

5 Common WordPress Security Issues – https://ithemes.com/2017/01/16/wordpress-security-issues/

**WordPress Plugins Reviewed by John Overall**

AH About Widget

Version:1.0.0
Requires:4.6 or higher
Compatible up to:4.7.3
Released:21 January 2017
Downloads:245
Last Updated:21 January 2017
Ratings:
0
(0 star out of 5)
This is a new plugin to set up an bout you widget that is pretty simple and uses the bio from your profile to display in the widget and a Gravatar image and the links to your about page. It has several different prebuilt layout and seems like a great plugin that is simple and easy.
Rating 4 Dragons

WP Tasks After Install

Version:1.0.7
Requires:3.0 or higher
Compatible up to:4.7.3
Released:17 January 2017
Downloads:246
Last Updated:21 January 2017
Ratings:
5
(5 star out of 5)
The Lowdown:
This is an awesome plugin for when you have to setup a fresh install of WordPress, it take care of some essential items and save you a few minutes after install by doing the following
  • Removes the default “Hello World” post.
  • Removes the default page “Example page”.
  • Changes the name and slug of Uncategorized default category to “Blog”.
  • Sets the permalink structure to “%/postname%/.
  • Removes “Hello Dolly” and “Akismet” plugins.
  • Disables comments and pings.
  • Deletes the wp-config-sample.php file.
  • Deletes readme.html file
  • Delete all themes except the default one.
  • Deactivates the plugin itself.
Rating 5 dragons

Stream Status for Twitch

Version:1.0
Requires:3.6 or higher
Compatible up to:4.7.3
Released:01 January 2017
Downloads:275
Last Updated:01 January 2017
Ratings:
0
(0 star out of 5)
The Lowdown:
You have heard recently on this show a short discussion about Twich and that is is becoming used more and more especially by Gamers for live streaming their game playing. Since I am in process of helping one of those gamers build a website to showcase his videos and he uses Twitch to share live streams this is a perfect fit. It adds a notice to his website to let his fans know when he is live on twitch. simple to use just install connect to account and customize it up a bit.
Rating 4 Dragons. 

**WordPress Plugins Reviewed by Marcus Couch**

Birthday Mail BP

Version:1.0
Requires:4.6.1 or higher
Compatible up to:4.7.3
Released:21 January 2017
Downloads:198
Last Updated:23 March 2017
Ratings:
0
(0 star out of 5)
If you are a BuddyPress user, this plugin is an automated function that sends birthday emails to members on their birthday. It’s a great way to express your birthday wishes. It’s also a good opportunity to present a coupon or discount to your member, should you have any ecommerce products.
Rating 4 out of 5

TM Style Switcher

Version:1.0.3
Requires:4.5 or higher
Compatible up to:4.7.3
Released:17 January 2017
Downloads:2940
Last Updated:20 March 2017
Ratings:
0
(0 star out of 5)
This plugin allows you to save the theme settings as skins, switch between them in any moment and even transfer between installations.
Rating 4 out of 5

WC Document Preview

Version:1.0.0
Requires:3.0.1 or higher
Compatible up to:4.7.3
Released:19 January 2017
Downloads:60
Last Updated:19 January 2017
Ratings:
0
(0 star out of 5)
This plugin adds an extended feature to WooCommerce that adds a document preview feature in single product page. This is very handy for ebooks and digital products that lend themselves to previews. Amazon.com does something very similar when selling books.
Rating: 4 out of 5

Plugins Overview:

John’s Plugins: AH About Widget  – 4, WP Tasks After Install – 5, Stream Status for Twitch – 4
Marcus’ Plugins:  Birthday Mail BP – 4, TM Style Switcher – 4, WC Document Preview – 4

Commercial /  Promotions:

Time to share this space with others, so currently I would like to let others know about another great WordPress Podcast and website KitchensinkWP a great podcast . It is done by host Adam Silver you can check it out at http://kitchensinkwp.com some great information check him out. .

 

Support WP Plugins A to Z


With over 25% of the websites on the web being run by WordPress. It has of course become the largest target for hackers and scammers. And as great as it is, once in a while you will have trouble and be in need of some Emergency WordPress Support and when you face that trouble I am there to help you solve it.
Getting you back up and running as quickly as possible is my job and when you need that Emergency WordPress Support you can reach me at 818-850-7729, send an email to john@wppro.ca or go to http://WPPro.ca/Emergency for fast efficient support for your WordPress website and don’t send any more time than necessary offline.




My newly created Membership Coach program is your go-to resource for all the Training, Advice, and Support needed to Develop and Grow a Profitable Membership Site. Be sure to head over to MembershipCoach.com and get on the waiting list for the first sessions, launching soon. You can also follow @membershipcoach on twitter to get the latest release dates and news. Signups are now active and Pre-Launch Enrollment is open!

Just some reminders:
Get Your Daily dose of WordPress News from the WPPlugins Daily over at WPNews.wpmedic.ca

Rate us at iTunes, blubrry.com, ViaWay.com, Stitcher Radio and any place else you find us.

Interact with your Hosts

John can be contacted at:
Website: http://www.johnoverall.com/
WordPress Emergency Support: http://wppro.ca/wpemergency
Email: john@wppro.ca

Marcus can be contacted at:
Website: Marcus Couch Home Page
Website: Daily Plugin
Twitter: @marcuscouch

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

3 replies
  1. Craig Grant
    Craig Grant says:

    Thanks for the WP Tasks After Install plugin suggestions guys. Saves so much time on a fresh install. I don’t seem to be able to tick the Notify me of followup comments box

    Reply

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. […] Plugins A to Z Podcast and Transcript for Episode #291 It’s Episode 291 and we’ve got plugins for Embedding Twitch, Birthday Emails, Theme […]

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *